Pawanmuktasana are yoga postures that release air within the body. They work one-by-one with all bodily organs and systems to ensure that one is happy and healthy. Pawanmuktasan is comprised of three words: Pawan, Mukta and Asana which means wind/air release and pose, respectively. The name itself, Pawanmuktasana, refers to the poses which let the body parts release gas from the body to improve health and remove the mental blockages that stop energy flowing freely. yoga teacher training in Rishikesh  There are three types of Pawanmuktasana; first, it addresses joints (suggested to everyone who has no age limit, and no particular limitations other than the condition of a the joint); second, it focuses to improve digestion (to avoid by those who suffer from high blood pressure, severe back problems like sciatica or a slipped disc, or who have had abdominal surgery recently) The third or final series increases the flow of energy and eliminates knots in the neuromuscular system (to to be avoided by those suffering from heart conditions or high blood pressure, abdominal surgery and leg injuries). The sequence of Pawanmuktasana improves wellness and makes the body and mind healthier.

Pawanmuktasana Series I

Beginning with the base posture (prarambhik and sthiti), Pawanmuktasana series I includes 12 poses total – the base pose, followed by toe bend (padanguli Naman) as well as ankle bent (goolf Naman) and the ankle’s rotation (goolf chakra) an knee crank (goolf ghoornan) as well as kneecap contraction (janufalak Akarshan) as well as knee bent (janu Naman) and leg crank (janu chakra) half butterfly pose (ardha titali asana) as well as involuntary hip rotation (shorni chakra) and full butterfly posture (poorna Titali Asana) and hand tightening (mushtika bandhana) wrist bent (manibandha Naman) and wrist joint motion (manibandha chakra) and elbow bend (kehuni Naman) and the rotation of your elbow (kehuni chakra) and shoulder socket movement (skandha chakra) and neck movement (greeva Sanchalana). This series focuses on relaxing joints in the body, to eliminate energy blockages within the joints of the body, as well as improving self-awareness, coordination, and confidence in oneself. Patients suffering from rheumatism high blood pressure, arthritis heart conditions, other illnesses that are advised not to participate in strenuous exercise or any kind of vigorous physical activity can do this set of asanas.

Ways to Perform Pawanmuktasana Series I

Pawanmuktasana Series I demands total concentration from the practitioner to achieve the best results. ashtanga yoga teacher training in Rishikesh    It is possible to practice it by focusing on the actual physical movements, through integrated breathing and consciousness of the movements of Prana

1. Awareness of your actual physical movements – become aware of interactions between the various parts of your human body i.e. bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, etc. Be aware of your motion of the joints, ligaments, muscles, and other body parts and keep a record of each completed cycle by imagining it and be aware of the thoughts that arise in your mind. This technique of training can bring peace and harmony, as well as one-pointedness. making you conscious of your actions and the results they produce, that allow you to be both physically and mentally present. This creates harmony in your physical body and in your the mind.

2. Awareness that is synchronized with breathing It is important to synchronize breathing with your awareness of the above mentioned physical actions. By doing this you will notice that your movements be slower, which results in a slowing of brain waves which further enhance the relaxation process and awareness. This synchronization rejuvenates your body and improves the function of organs in the internal system with more influence on the pranic and physical levels. Each of these asana will come with a instructions for breathing and one should follow these. In addition, students who are experienced may find that ujjayi pranayama works better for breathing techniques in Pawanmuktasana Series I. Ujjayi pranayama effectively stimulates and regulates the flow of pranic energy through the nadis.

3. The awareness of prana’s movement Prana – Prana can be felt by a sensation of tingling in the body, to which one gets accustomed to through the practice. In the mind, it is possible to feel at ease, but also emotional fresh and open. Regular rest is essential for Pawanmuktasana Series I You should remain in a seated position for about a few minutes with your eyes shut every two or three sessions. When doing this, be aware of your breathing and the body part or parts the body that have been moved. Also, be conscious of any thoughts, feelings or ideas that arise in your mind. It is not just about providing some relaxation for the body, but also improve awareness of internal energy patterns as well as the emotional and mental processes. The importance of rest is the same as the asanas that you do within Pawanmuktasana Series I. If you are exhausted, take a break in shavasana, no matter what level of practice you’re in. Shavasana should be done for 3 to 5 minutes after the completion of the class. Learn more all about Pawanmuktasana Series II in our next article.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button